Knitting in the dark

For years and years I’ve been knitting in the dark.

I had always thought that knitting was a bit of a solitary activity, and that most knitting patterns were a bit old-fashioned, long-winded and borning.  Having made various scarves and fiddling with my own made-up patterns to make a series of odd-looking animals, I was seized by desire to knit a jumper.

After much asking around various crafty people, I found my local yarn shop, and discovered that their patterns weren’t at all old fashioned and boring!  And this is where the obsession re-started.  So many colours.  So many textures!  Someone mentioned Ravelry ( www.ravelry.com ).

So, a few knitting patterns down the line, I’ve discovered a whole world that I never knew exited – knitting groups, knitting blogs, knitting communities.

I had no idea that knitting could be such a social activity!  I’ve started getting my knitting out at work in lunchbreaks, in pubs, on trains etc, it’s absolutely amazing how many people come over to talk about what you’re knitting.  Especially with my latest project, the Spiral Blanket of Awesomeness from Yarnista – www.yarnista.com – a lot of people can’t get their heads around what it actiually is, as it’s gathered on a cable, and not lying flat (yet!).

So here we go, I’m joining in the social knitting…

Leave a Reply

